Personal touch or fast resolution – what do end users really want from their IT Support?

With regards to IT support, do end users really prefer face-to-face contact with an analyst, or would their rather have the problem fixed remotely in the shortest time possible? Does it make any difference to them, and what is their priority?

Many IT directors seem to invest a great part of their IT budget in an unnecessary number of desk side support analysts, rather than in new technology to speed up operations through remote intervention. Their justification is something along these lines: “Users like that personal touch. They feel awkward when they have to interact with a voice over the phone or deal with automated tools. They like to have a friendly face at their desk.”

Is this the truth or an assumption by IT? Do users just want their problem fixed which ever way is quickest, be that desk side or over the phone?

These are the results of our poll :

Answer Votes
I don’t mind if my problem is solved remotely, I just want to get it fixed as quick as possible.    80%
 I feel awkward when I have to interact with a voice over the phone or automated software. I like to have a friendly face at my desk.    10%
I have no preference. Either way is fine with me.    10%
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

